Sea of Galilee Marathon 8.1.2016 - News

  News Info & Registration Start List Course Course Map & Refreshment Stations Photos Results 10 km Forum Contact facebook
News » Archive » 2013
4 last course record holders will run in the 36th edition
As the winners prize money became very significant this year, more than 20 elite runners with a under 2:10h marathon PB will run in this year Tiberias marathon


Twambe wins the 35th Tiberias WINNER marathon with a new CR

Among the elite runners that will participate at the 36th Tiberias WINNER marathon, about 25 are a sub 2:10h PB. Another fuct worth mentioning is that the 4 last course record holders will be back to this year marathon. Franchmen Patrick Twambe, the 35th edition winner and the record holder of the 2:07:30h finished 2nd at the 34th edition and won the last marathon, earning the place at the London 2012 Olympic games representing France. After setting his PB in Tiberias Twambe did not end the Olympic marathon and the near Tiberias marathon will be his second after the life time best.

Kenyan Jackson kipkoech Kotut won the 2009 Tiberias marathon setting, then, a new course record of 2:08:07h. A year later (2010) Kotut set his PB of 2:07:30 at the Barcelona marathon.
A year before Kotut's winning, Kenyan Leonard mucheru Maina set a new course record of 2:10:32h at his second back to back win in Tiberias. Mucheru Maina was already well known as in the 30th edition (2007) he came to the 29th marathon as Mushir salem Jabbar representing Bahrain. As Jabbar goal was to do his job well as a pacemaker, he ended his first life marathon as the winner, clocking 2:13:13 only to receive a few months later an official note from the Bahrainian government announcing him that his Bahrainian citizenship is no longer in valid. As mensioned, he came back a year later as Leonard Mucheru, representing Kenya, and declared: "Politics should not put barriers for a sportsmen to participate in any event, anywhere in the world". This kind of declaration is well represents the 2 times Tiberias WINNER marathon. At the last 2 Tiberias marathon (2011 & 2012) Mucheru failed at his attempt to set a new course record – a very changeble fact for this year edition.

The 4th course record holder that will run at the 36th Tiberias WINNER marathon is the 2 times past winner, Ethiopian Moges taye Mamo. In the 26th Tiberias marathon (2003) Moges won with a new record of 2:12:45, breaking his own previous 5 years earlier (21st edition 1998 Tiberias marathon) record by 6 seconds.

Print version       Send to Friend
Rate: 1 2 3 4 5
Rate: (11 Ratings)
Comments (Add Comments)

Copyright © 2015 Israeli Athletic Association All rights reserved.